CMEV Bulletin of 8th May 2008 – 1st Release

Media Communiqué on Election-related Violence

Eastern Provincial Council Election – 2008

8th May 2008 – 16.30 – Media Communiqué 1

CMEV has been informed that journalists for the Associated Press were refused entry into Batticaloa town at the Valaichinnai military check point and they were also told that they had to leave the Eastern Province. They were informed that they needed permission from the Ministry of Defence to remain in the Eastern Province.  

CMEV was also informed that the requirement of Ministry of Defence permission to remain in the Eastern Province was confirmed to them by General Palitha Fernando at the Minstry of Defence. Subsequently they were informed that they could remain.


CMEV spoke to Gen Fernando who stated that there was no restriction on journalists with Department of Information accreditation entering the Eastern Province and that for reasons relating to their security, restrictions would only apply to foreign tourists and visitors entering the Eastern Province over the next three days.


CMEV calls upon the authorities to facilitate the fullest media coverage to accredited journalists to cover the Eastern Provincial Council election and to ensure that this is clearly communicated to authorities in the three districts of the Eastern Province.  We further call upon the Elections Commissioner and his officials to ensure this.



CO – CONVENOR                                                      CO – CONVENOR                                          CO – CONVENOR


Click here to download PDF Version

CMEV Bulletin of 7th May 2008 – 1st Release


Media Communiqué on Election-related Violence

Eastern Provincial Council Election – 2008

7th May 2008 – Media Communiqué 1



The Centre for Monitoring Election Violence (CMEV) will be monitoring the Eastern Provincial Council Election on 10 May 2008.  CMEV is currently constituted by the Centre for Policy Alternatives (CPA) the Free Media Movement (FMM) and INFORM Human Rights Documentation Centre. Set up in 1997, CMEV has monitored every election since then.  It observed the elections to local government authorities in the Batticaloa District in April 2008.

CMEV will be deploying 330 stationary monitors within selected polling centres across the Eastern Province and an additional 49 Mobile Teams.

CMEV’s focus on election day as opposed to the entire campaign as well, has been  necessitated by financial constraints.  CMEV will issue reports on Election Day and a consolidated final report.


Colombo Office Telephone Numbers Fax Numbers
Ampara District 0115621886 0114714460
Baticaloa District 0112375263 0112375263           
Trincomalee District 0115621904 0112375239
Emergency 0112375012  


District Office Telephone Numbers
Ampara 0632223735               
Batticaloa 0602144140  
Trincomalee 0779081956  
District Coordinators
Ampara Mr.Lakshman Perera 0773158281
Batticaloa Mr. Satheek 0776623467
Trincomalee Mr Karunaratne 0779690356
Field Coordinators
Ampara Mr. Dissanayake 0716809730
Batticaloa Mr. Rasika Perera 0777312079
Trincomalee Mr. Udaya Kalupathirana 0773112628



DR.PAIKIASOTHY SARAVANAMUTTU          MR. UDAYA KALUPATHIRANA        MS. SEETHA RANJANI          CO – CONVENOR                                                             CO – CONVENOR                                          CO – CONVENOR

Click here to download PDF Version

Launch of CMEV blog


This blog will be updated soon with information gathered by the Centre for Monitoring Election Violence (CMEV) leading up to and on the day of the elections in the Eastern Province of Sri Lanka on 10th May 2008.

In addition to our incident reports, we hope to give live updates on maps and through Twitter, from which you can get them on your mobiles wherever you are in the world.