CMEV Bulletin of 7th May 2008 – 1st Release


Media Communiqué on Election-related Violence

Eastern Provincial Council Election – 2008

7th May 2008 – Media Communiqué 1



The Centre for Monitoring Election Violence (CMEV) will be monitoring the Eastern Provincial Council Election on 10 May 2008.  CMEV is currently constituted by the Centre for Policy Alternatives (CPA) the Free Media Movement (FMM) and INFORM Human Rights Documentation Centre. Set up in 1997, CMEV has monitored every election since then.  It observed the elections to local government authorities in the Batticaloa District in April 2008.

CMEV will be deploying 330 stationary monitors within selected polling centres across the Eastern Province and an additional 49 Mobile Teams.

CMEV’s focus on election day as opposed to the entire campaign as well, has been  necessitated by financial constraints.  CMEV will issue reports on Election Day and a consolidated final report.


Colombo Office Telephone Numbers Fax Numbers
Ampara District 0115621886 0114714460
Baticaloa District 0112375263 0112375263           
Trincomalee District 0115621904 0112375239
Emergency 0112375012  


District Office Telephone Numbers
Ampara 0632223735               
Batticaloa 0602144140  
Trincomalee 0779081956  
District Coordinators
Ampara Mr.Lakshman Perera 0773158281
Batticaloa Mr. Satheek 0776623467
Trincomalee Mr Karunaratne 0779690356
Field Coordinators
Ampara Mr. Dissanayake 0716809730
Batticaloa Mr. Rasika Perera 0777312079
Trincomalee Mr. Udaya Kalupathirana 0773112628



DR.PAIKIASOTHY SARAVANAMUTTU          MR. UDAYA KALUPATHIRANA        MS. SEETHA RANJANI          CO – CONVENOR                                                             CO – CONVENOR                                          CO – CONVENOR

Click here to download PDF Version

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: