Code of Conduct for candidates & media guidelines for election gazetted

An extraordinary gazette notification containing the Code of Conduct for contesting political parties, independent groups and candidates of the elections has been published.

The Election Commission said the relevant Code of Conduct is issued in terms of Section 8(8) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 as amended by the Parliamentary Elections (Amendment) Act, No. 58 of 2009.

Download Code of Conduct for Contesting Political Parties/Independent Groups And Candidates of the Elections in Sinhala / Tamil / English

Download Media Guidelines in Sinhala / Tamil / English


ANFREL and six domestic election observation groups, including ANFREL members PAFFREL and CMEV, release today the “COVID-19 Code of Conduct for Election Observers” ahead of the 2020 Sri Lankan parliamentary elections.

This document is a joint initiative from organizations both domestic and international intending to observe the parliamentary elections of Sri Lanka. The polls were initially scheduled for 25 April 2020 but have been postponed because of the COVID-19 pandemic that is affecting the country. While the date at which the elections could be held remains uncertain, pending a ruling from the Supreme Court on the matter, election monitoring organizations have decided to plan ahead and draft guidelines so that election observation may take place in the most responsible manner.

Download Statement in Sinhala

Download Statement in Tamil

Download Statement in English

Working amid a Global Pandemic

This document first provides an overview of some of the interventions made by CMEV in this period. It also details media coverage of CMEV’s activities and interventions. Finally, the document provides a snapshot of activity on CMEV’s official website and Facebook pages, as indicators of CMEV’s online operations during this period.

Download Report in here

Nomination List of Political Party and Independent groups Parliamentary Election 2020

Nomination lists of political party and independent group’s candidates to contest each electoral district in the upcoming Parliamentary General Election 2020.

Recognized Political Party and Independent Group Names of Candidates in District Wise.

Click the District to download Nomination List

Western Province :- Colombo / Gampaha / Kalutara

Central Province :- Kandy / Matale / Nuwara-Eliya

Uva Province :- Badulla / Monaragala

Southern Province :- Galle / Matara / Hambantota

Sabaragamuwa Province :- Ratnapura / Kegalle

Eastern Province :- Digamadulla(Ampara) / Trincomalee / Batticaloa

North Central Province :- Anuradhapura / Polonnaruwa

North Western Province :- Kurunegala / Puttalam

Northern Province :- Jaffna / Vanni (Vanni electoral district includes the administrative districts of Mullaitivu, Mannar and Vavuniya)

National List of Political Party Parliament General Election 2020

CMEV presents the national lists of persons submitted by each political party and independent group to Election Commission for the Parliamentary General Election 2020 (under article 99 A of the Constitution). 29 out of 225 seats in Parliament are allocated to political parties and independent groups in proportion to their share of the national vote.
The names of the candidates to contest under each electoral district that was submitted during the nomination period (to fill the remaining 196 seats) will also be uploaded soon. 

Download in here

CMEV Letter to Election Commission on Department of Samurdhi Development Misusing Voter List

Complaint letter CMEV lodged with the Election Commission about the Director-General of Department of Samurdhi Development misusing voter lists released for COVID-19 relief programmes to campaign illegally. CMEV is still awaiting a response.

Download Letter in Sinhala

Download Letter in English